Govt constitutes coordination committee to celebrate Apple Year-2017


SRINAGAR: The government on Friday constituted a coordination committee under the chairmanship of Secretary Horticulture Department Mohammad Hussain Malik to work out the modalities of celebrating 2017 as ‘Apple Year’.
The members of the committee include: Director Horticulture Kashmir Rafiq Ahmad, Director Planning and Marketing Horticulture Hafizullah Shah, Assistant Director Research Fruit Science, SKUAST Kashmir Dr. Mohammad Saleem Mir, Vice President J&K Bank Fayaz Ahmad Malik and AVP, J&K Bank Rashid-ud-Din.
According to an official statement issued here, the members will coordinate various activities for celebration of 2017 as ‘Apple Year’ as announced by the Chief Minister during the launch of High Density Plantation Scheme in February this year.
The committee will coordinate for launching publicity campaigns and mass awareness camps for traders and growers regarding Apple Year celebrations, besides ‘Buyer’s and Grower’s Conference’ to be held at Srinagar in collaboration with J&K Bank and Tourism Department and the awareness camps to be held for the growers and traders in all districts in collaboration with the SKUAST and Tourism Department.
In a bid to promote Kashmiri Apple in domestic as well as international market the committee will look after the arrangements being made for the celebration of Apple Year, it added.


Join our newsetter

Sign up today for free and be the first to get notified of new updates.